Fighting the good fight against arthritis pain

Home Page Forums Specific Disorders Arthritis Pain Fighting the good fight against arthritis pain

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Noki4
      Participant

Hi, I have been fighting the pain of arthritis since I was 22 years old. I was first diagnosed with degenerative joint disease (osteoarthritis) and then later received the diagnose of rheumatoid arthritis. It has been a long journey of nearly half of my lifetime. The DJD/OA involves my spine, neck, back, knees and hip. I have a very progressive form of this that started in my teen years but was not diagnosed until my early 20’s.
      I spent a couple years in a wheelchair because I just got plain old tired of fighting the pain. It just seemed easier to give up then to keep fighting on.
      After 2 years of being in the wheelchair I finally was able to get my fight back and worked with my healthcare provider to get back on my feet. We used water therapy 3 times a week and it was truly the best thing I have ever did. I was able to get out of the wheelchair and I have never looked back.
      Now several years later the damage has progressed and I am falling a great deal. My healthcare provider would like for me to go back to using the wheelchair at least some of the time. I can’t do it, I am afraid if I do, that I will give up again and not get back out of it, that it will become too easy to stay down.
      So I am fighting onward and trying to be careful to not fall (not always successful). 

Anonymous
      Inactive