What difficulties do you have while grocery shopping?

Home Page Forums General Discussions on Pain What difficulties do you have while grocery shopping?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      ambersprung
      Participant

Hello! I am a Mechanical Engineering student at Purdue University and I also have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome. For a design project we have to create or improve an assistive device. We are focusing on helping to improve the lives of people with chronic pain disorders. Please help us out by answering any of the following questions!

1. What motions cause you pain while grocery shopping and what activities do you find difficult/try to avoid? (Also what time of pain/disorder you have)

2. Do you use any products on the market to improve your grocery shopping experience? If yes, what do you like and dislike about them? If no, would you consider using one?

3. What factors would be important to you in a shopping cart designed to decrease pain associated with shopping? (for example, adjustable height to easily slide into car, etc)

Any input you could give us would help us to design this product to be most helpful! Thanks guys!

TPC_YaYa

Ambersprun,

Those are some really great questions. I know for myself the thing that helps me the most is one of those Reachers/Grabbers. The problem is finding one that folds up small enough to keep in my purse but is still strong enough to pick up heavier items on the top or bottom shelves.
      The expense is another issue, in order to find one that is strong enough to handle larger items, the expense is too much for most of us who live on tight budget.

My very best to you in your research and on your pain journey.

TPC YAYA

TPC Community Moderator
      “The views or opinion(s) contained herein do not necessarily represent those of The Pain Community.”

Noki4
      Participant