Occupational Therapy’s Role In Pain Management – A Patient’s Perspective

Home Page Forums Treatment Options for Pain Occupational Therapy’s Role In Pain Management – A Patient’s Perspective

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      TPC_YaYa

As a twenty-something university student, I told my doctor I was having difficulty writing with pens and pencils. The pain had become so bad that I had difficulty holding forks and spoons, so I was always choosing foods in the cafeteria that were socially acceptable to be eaten with my hands. Yay for pizza and burritos! I was down to only one swimming workout a week instead of every other day because my hands hurt so much with each stroke.

This kind of pain is a common problem for people like me who live with the chronic pain condition Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome. Hypermobile joints in my hands, fingers and wrists meant that the tighter I held onto a pen or pencil or a fork or spoon, the more that object seemed to slip around and the more painful my hands became. The doctor’s solution was a referral to an Occupational Therapist (OT). Not understanding the difference between a Physical Therapist (PT) and an Occupational Therapist, I went into the appointment with expectations of more exercises and advice about heat, cold and pacing.

The first thing that struck me was that the OT started the appointment by asking questions, lots of questions about more than my painful hands. The OT asked:

What types of pens and pencils did I use?
      Where was I writing (room, furniture, etc.)?
      What type of paper or notebook was I writing in?
      What time of day did I do most of my writing?